Pressure.

So I am under pressure. From outside forces and from myself. I am currently in the process of writing my MA Supporting Statement. This is where I need to lay out why I think I should get a place on the course. Sounds easier than it is I can assure you.

There are so many factors that need to be included. First explaining why I choose that course as that university specifically. I need to show that I am fit to take that course, that the degree is something I am passionate about and something I am capable of succeeding in.

That is just the beginning of course, there is a whole series of things not to include! Plus having to sell myself has never been my strong suit, so saying why I would be good is proving extremely difficult. Although it’s not that what needs to be included is hard to explain, its being able to accurately portray how much I want this.

After attending the Sheffield Open Day the other week I felt sick, and panicked. What if I didn’t get in? What if I did? Could I cope? At first I thought these feeling meant I wasn’t fit to do the course, but then I realised they show that I am. Everything the tutors said had me entranced. I wanted to know more, I wanted to be the students they were showcasing. The fear demonstrated the desire I have. I want this, but there are so many things that need to fall into place for it to happen.

The course is highly competitive, the tutor at the open day said she had received dozens of applications already, there are only 19-24 places. Hence, the pressure I feel right now. I want this Supporting Statement to show how I can be the student they are looking for.

Of course the application is only the first step, the next potential step is the interview, its going to be tough, but I believe I can do it. I have never been very confident, odd coming from a drama student right? But this is something I believe in, I honestly feel like I can do this and do it well. So keep your fingers crossed for me, because I need it right now!

Leave a Reply

